My kids are 5 years and 7 years old. They are still in booster seats. I always thought this was
pretty reasonable. I also thought this was the law, but I was wrong. Until today, car seats or booster seats were only required for children up to age 3. Now they are required for age 4 and 5, as well.
Here is the official Florida statute:
316.613 Child restraint requirements.
(1)(a) Every operator of a motor vehicle as defined in this section, while transporting a child in a motor vehicle operated on the roadways, streets, or highways of this state, shall, if the child is 5 years of age or younger, provide for protection of the child by properly using a crash-tested, federally approved child restraint device.
For complete Florida Child restraint requirements, click, including exceptions to the above, click here.
Hat tip to Tampa Bay Moms Group where found out about this rule change.